TV show “Glee” sparked my passion

I’ve always been jealous of the people who have been able to find what they are passionate about in life and go after it. I would ask myself, “How did they know that is what they are passionate about?” I can hardly think of many things that get me really riled up or extremely excited. However, yesterday I had one of those moments and knew immediately that it triggered something deep inside of me.

I gotta say. I love the tv show “Glee.” Yes, I get sucked into their stories of high school drama and I actually enjoy it. Maybe it is because this resonates with how I experienced high school. I see these young students struggling to find their identity and then have moments of epiphany where they take another step into becoming who they were created to be.

This particular clip is from the Glee episode, “Asian F.” I watched this music video probably seven times in a row on Saturday and at the exact same moment each time, I cried. At the 1:13 minute mark there is a character named Emma Pillsbury who begins to groove to the music (she has red hair and is wearing a black and white polka-dot sweater). Emma is typically shy and reserved, but in this short moment you can see that she is excited about the dance and can’t help but move a little herself. Yet, she still holds back. Later in the video, at 2:09, she can’t hold back anymore. She just HAS to get up and join in!

I get so pumped when I see women who are not confident in who they are, suddenly bloom into who they were created to be – when their eyes flash and you know they mean business.

I’m not sure how my passion for women to know who they are created to be is going to play out, but I do know that it is going to be radical.

8 thoughts on “TV show “Glee” sparked my passion

  1. That is awesome, girl! You know, that is exactly how I feel each and every time I see a woman in my Zumba or WERQ class finally let loose completely and give in to the music and realize their inner diva! It’s SO amazing to see that happen, and to know that I and my class are helping to bring that moment out for women.

    • Kate! This was the perfect post for you to comment on. I remember the first time we really sat down together and chatted over coffee. You told me that seeing women realize their inner diva was one of the main reasons you loved doing what you do. I experienced this in your class! Ladies, (and men too) if you live in the GR area, you must check out Kate’s dance classes at livedancemove.com. Her classes are set up so even those who say they “can’t dance” will be able to catch on and realize their “inner diva.”

    • Josh, I’ve checked out Nina’s “About” page and a couple of her blog posts. I already love her! Thank you for the referral. I will definitely connect with her!

  2. You had me at Glee…

    I love this Alana! There have been so many aha! moments brought on by shows and movies for me. And I have to say, I love that Glee brought this on for you. We’re total Gleeks at our house. 🙂

    For me, my passion has always been babies. But what I’ve realized recently is that I can help so many more by impacting their mamas. I want to wake women up to the truth – show them that there is more to life than stuff and cleaning house. I want them to see that they were made for something extraordinary and help bring that out. I want to empower women to confidence and intentional action, to find that intuition that conventional wisdom is trying to bury.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go watch me some Glee.

    • “I want them to see that they were made for something extraordinary and help bring that out. I want to empower women to confidence and intentional action, to find that intuition that conventional wisdom is trying to bury.”

      Ohmygoodness, Nina. You just made my day! This is awesome!

      AND it’s totally awesome that you are a Gleek! I like you.

What do you think?

