Who Are Your Monkeys?

Part 3 of series: How to Get What You Want

#3: Surround yourself with people that you find successful.

Have you ever heard the phrase “Monkey See, Monkey Do”? This is framed around the concept that if we spend enough time around a person, we will eventually begin to speak, think and act the same way.

I used to spend quite a bit of time around a friend who always had big plans for the things he wanted to do, but rarely could he make the jump from idea to action. He lost himself in project details and froze with his perceived enormity of the task. Overtime I found myself beginning to behave the same way! “I want to get organized and take care of this stack of paperwork; but to do that I’ll have to go down to the basement to find file folders. Once I am down there I might as well get that room organized first…” I had developed the habit of thinking instead of doing.

Eventually I realized how similar my behavior was to that of my friend’s. I had become him, just in Alana’s body! I began to distance myself and connect with others who were doing the things I wanted to do. Almost immediately my behavior changed, and again I was “owning life” instead of life owning me.

To be successful, it is important to be acutely aware of the people we surround ourselves with. Remember the ‘Monkey See, Monkey Do’ adage. Who are your monkeys?

5 thoughts on “Who Are Your Monkeys?

  1. I find the blogosphere very inspiring. I’ve also learned to pace myself and by saying that I mean to heed my body’s warning signs to be still. Doing so allows me to ramp up with the energy needed when I find the next thing I’m really jazzed about.

    My steady, most consistent & thought-provoking monkey? My hubbs of nearly 20 years 🙂 MJ

    fun post ..

    • MJ,

      Thursday I will be posting about refueling yourself!

      I REALLY like that your husband is one of your monkeys. That is sweet!

  2. Pingback: I’m Totally Impressionable | musings of a shiny penny

What do you think?

