Reasons for My Existence

What is most important to me? What threads are beginning to reveal themselves through my musings?

I’m taking this cue from Ivan Bickett, who will be my first guest tomorrow on Musings of a Shiny Penny. The other day we discussed themes that he finds to be his own passions. After contemplating my own passions, I discovered the below 4 Threads:

Relationships.
Community. Family. Friends. I’ve always been one to appreciate relationships, (I’m a high “I” for those who are familiar with the DiSC personality test) but only recently have I realized their vitality. Despite how we feel or what we think, we need other people in our lives to support us and challenge us.

Passion.
Dan Miller, author of 48 Days to the Work You Love, recently said, “You speak because you have a message you can’t contain.” SHAZAM! I totally resonated with this! I can’t stop thinking, believing and hoping that we were all called to live amazingly fulfilled lives. Some of us are fortunate enough to have found our passions and begin living them in our daily lives. Others of us know there has got to be something more, something bigger to this life, but we don’t know how to get from point A to point B. We are miserable and cannot bear to get up in the morning, but do not know how to utilize the tools we have to escape Groundhog’s Day. The last group of us are poor, miserable souls but have zero desire to do anything to change. It’s our lot in life. Our cross to bear. (<– those are lies by the way).

My goal and desire is to help others realize their passions, talents and what makes them tick so they can lead successful and fulfilled lives!

Hope.
It ain’t over ’til its over. This is a phrase that Ed Dobson shares in his story at Edsstory.com. It Ain’t Over, the first film in the Ed’s Story series, reminds us that life isn’t over yet and that we don’t have to feel overwhelmed by the struggles we’re facing today. [1] It’s so easy to get overwhelmed by life. I can admit I get overwhelmed on a daily basis, but know this – there is hope for you. Your life is not over. I don’t care if you are 13, 53 or 93. You are still living and you do not have to live this way anymore.

Action.
This theme has been strongly embedded in my brain by Ivan Bickett. He shares his story of sitting around, wanting a different life but doing nothing to change it. You can view more of Ivan’s story here. He is finally doing something to change.

I am learning that we can dream and dream and dream … and things overtime may change. We may get a different job, meet that special someone, start a family. Whatever. Imagine the life you could live if you were intentional. I am working on a program to help others live intentional lives. It takes work, but OHMYGOODNESS the rewards are ::melodic sing-song voice:: AMAAAZING!

K. These 4 themes are shaping my message. I can’t wait for you to hear what some of my guests have to say!

Come back tomorrow for my first guest post from Ivan Bickett @ abetterwayofbusiness.com.

[1] Edsstory.com

20 thoughts on “Reasons for My Existence

  1. Alana, I love the way you broke this down. For me, it’s the action part that’s SO difficult but I’m learning to FORCE myself to do it. Ivan Bickett has been a great inspiration to act for me as well!

    • Michael, I agree – taking action can be scary and overwhelming. I have found the more that I align myself with others who are taking action, the more it inspires me and gives ME courage to step forward!

      • Alana,

        This post is getting great traction. That’s because the content is so good. Way to go!

        Also, I keep reading that “action” is the toughest thing for most people. One thing that has helped me take action is an approach I call “Planned Neglect” (got this from a Maxwell Book). I decide what the most important thing is for me to do on a particular day or in a particular week, then I figure out a way to neglect everything else in order to get that one thing accomplished.

        Works like a charm!

        In fact, a little shameless plug here…I’ll be talking about this more on Dec. 6 & 7: http://www.liveitforward.com/goal-getting-tele-seminar/

        Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, Alana. I told you people needed and wanted to hear what you had to say 🙂

        Kent Julian
        http://www.liveitforward.com
        http://www.kentjulian.com

    • Thanks for the love, Sir. Although I’m certain Claudia and you were heading in the right direction to begin with! Maybe I just gave that little extra nudge to help you get started sooner rather than later???

      ~Ivan

  2. Relationships…Passion…Hope…Action. That sounds so “Alana” to me!

    And who’s this Ivan Bickett character; I’ve heard good things about him too 🙂

    Proud of you, Alana. As someone who has gotten to know you well over the past year, you are living out those 4 words in your life big-time.

    Keep living it forward!

    Kent Julian
    http://www.liveitforward.com
    http://www.kentjulian.com

    • Awesome. Kent thank you for your feedback! The more I align with my “message” the easier it has been to actually live it because it comes so naturally. I love how you said “that sounds so ‘Alana’ to me.” 🙂

    • Hi Kent! I’m Ivan! I’m the guy having coffee with you in the beginning of December!!! BWAHAHAHAHA!

      Thanks for being so awesome. Did you know that thanks to something you helped me spot during the Speak it Forward Boot Camp 2011 I’ll be completely changing my business???

      Keep your eyes open.

      ~Ivan

  3. I want to embrace what you have written here Alana! I am 54. I have been waiting, not so patiently, because my actions have done little but frustrate and depress me. But I know it’s not over til it’s over and there is HOPE.

    • ha. I can relate! There are times I step out in faith and things do not turn out anywhere near how I had hoped or imagined. It is FRUSTRATING. I am taking hope in realizing that there is much more to this life than our everyday dealings. Our actions have bigger impact – as tiny as they may seem, my actions will affect generations. Having this perspective has helped me to realize that I matter!

      Is there anything specific I can help you with? feel free to e-mail me @ amokma@gmail.com.

  4. Hey Alana!

    I never realized that you are such a good writer Alana…I’ve known that you’re a people person, that you have a gift of connecting, but you really have a gift of communication too..so awesome 🙂

  5. Great post, Alana! Relationships. Passion. Hope. and Action. What great points. And you know what I’m going to stress…

    Without action none of these will work.

    What’s a relationship without action? A dying connection.
    What’s passion without action? A longing from the heart that no one will ever know about.
    What’s hope with no action? A false belief that it will all work out just because.

    LOVE IT!

    Thanks for making me sound so good!

    ~Ivan

    • I’m feelin’ it too, Kent!

      I feel like I own a virtual coffee shop – people dropping in to say ‘hello.’ People having serious conversations. Others, having fun conversations. Others still, milling about… having conversations with one person, seeing someone they know and bopping over to say hello to that person too. I love this.

  6. Alana, I love this post and how you break down themes in your life. I’ve never thought of doing that, but think it may be something to help inspire me on a daily basis. Maybe do one thing a day or week having to do with one of my themes. Does that make sense? I wonder if that could be a project to inspire others or be part of coaching in some way. Something to ponder, I suppose.

    I also like that you mention Ed Dobson in your Hope section. Josh sent Ivan and me the link for his story a couple of weeks ago (though I never replied to him…boo, me). I can’t wait to see more from Ed – he definitely inspires hope.

    DFTBA! (If you don’t know what that is please Google it and NerdFighters to discover the awesomeness of the concept and who created it.)

    • Don’t Forget to Be Awesome? ha! I had to look it up. I’ve never heard that before.

      Ed’s videos are powerful. I’ve only seen fully the one I attached to this post, but there are a few others that I have seen trailers for – it definitely invokes a new perspective on life.

      On my Wheel Post, Kent mentioned something similar to what you did above: Throughout the weeks in a month, focus on a few different areas of your life, so that when the month is over – you have a more balanced life. The day-to-day may not necessarily reflect every single theme, but the month in whole would.

      Thank you for your thoughts, Skye!

What do you think?

