25 Things I Love About Me

Identity Feature: I have, and will ALWAYS sport new 'dos

It comes more naturally for us to recognize our flaws and insecurities. It is easier for me to focus on the reasons why I don’t have what it takes to do the things I want to do or be the person I want to be. I am learning that the more I speak positive affirmations over myself, the more I believe them and the more they play out in my life. Today I proclaim 25 Things I Love About Me!

#25. I am trustworthy.
#24. I am not afraid to ask questions … a lot of them.
#23. I am experimental. Artsy and expressive.
#22. I know that “one drop” can change everything.
#21. I am vibrant.
#20. I challenge others to live bigger and bolder.
#19. Others are naturally drawn to me.
#18. My various hair colors and styles are part of my identity. I’ve had this identity feature since age 16.
#17. If you ask my opinion, I will tell you the truth.
#16. What others think of me does not define me.
#15. I recognize most every person I have met; even if I have not seen them for years.
#14. I can rock 5″ heels.
#13. I am not afraid to break out in dance at a bowling alley… or at a grocery store… or in the middle of the street.
#12. I am mesmerized by people and want to know them.
#11. I may get knocked down, but it doesn’t take me long to get back up and keep fighting.
#10. I like teen shows like Glee.
#09. I have a voice, and it will be heard.
#08. I will never be too old to play dress up.
#07. I do what I say I am going to do… if I don’t, I am at least striving for it.
#06. I recognize my past has shaped me, but does not identify me.
#05. I can relate to a wide variety of people – wealthy/not-so-wealthy, weak/strong, crazy and sane. πŸ˜‰
#04. I wore dresses over jeans before it was popular.
#03. I am not afraid to be different.
#02. Even if today was bad, I have hope that tomorrow will be a better day.
#01. I am perfectly ME.

What are your top 25 Things You Love About You? Blog about it and leave a link or list a few of your favorites in the comment section.

19 thoughts on “25 Things I Love About Me

    • ha! It may be strange, but I definitely consider it a hobby to change up my hairstyle. Curly hair is wild and has it’s own personality. I like that about naturally curly hair.

  1. I have personally witnessed #13…what FUN!! Great post, Alana. This would make a great assignment for the kids’ writing class. YOU always inspire me πŸ˜‰

    • Lol. Was it in Traverse City at the Cherry Festival? That is the event I had in mind when I mentioned dancing in the streets. πŸ™‚ Halsey, Josh, our friend Adam and I cut-a-rug at a bowling alley over the weekend.

      What a cool idea to do this as an assignment with the kids! If you do it, I’d love to see the lists they come up with. πŸ™‚

    • Amanda, that is a GREAT question! It was easier to come up with the list than I thought… part of it was because I was referencing a Vision Board that I just completed a couple days prior – the theme of the board was the traits that I enjoy about myself or want to call-forth. It still took me 30-60 minutes. I actually changed one or two of the items right before the post went public.

  2. Alana I have not known you very long and I don’t see you very often but I swear I’ve seen most of those hair colors and dos! I’ve seen many of your 25 things too, actually! You continue to inspire me!

  3. This post just makes me happy. I honestly look at myself everyday in the mirror and just smile. I can always find something about myself that I love and I focus on that instead of the zit on my nose or the bad hair day. It makes the day start so much better. I also love that while I’m reading this list I’m thinking about how many of those are like me. I hope we get to hang out one day. πŸ™‚

    • Skye, that is awesome that you are already affirming yourself when you look in the mirror! This is something I have just started doing in the past week or so. I’d love to see your list of 25 things. πŸ™‚ I had fun writing mine! and yes, I hope we get to hang out again. It was crazy and cool how we were able to meet in person so soon after meeting online!

      • I’ll definitely have to make my 25 list. I love how similar we are on some things (like the hair and the dresses over jeans…well, mine were skirts). It was definitely cool getting to meet you guys. I really wish I could have hung out with you more. There’s always next time!

What do you think?

