2012: The Year of Facing (my) Fears

It’s January 3, 2012 and we have just celebrated the New Year. Many people at this time of year set new goals and resolutions for what they would like their next year to bring. I’ve tried this myself a few times in the past, but the goals become forgotten. They do not last. This year I have come up with a theme.

2012: The Year of Facing (my) Fears

People mentioned in this video:
Justin Lukasavige at coachradio.tv
Josh and Sarah Gordon at thenonconformistfamily.com

What is your theme for 2012?

31 thoughts on “2012: The Year of Facing (my) Fears

    • Dan, haha. I am SO used to challenging others that when Justin challenged me the other day I thought, “Wait. What just happened? I don’t know what to do right now…” Once I recovered from that jolt, it was refreshing and caused me to take some action. Yippee!

  1. You’re kicking off the year well, Alana. Way to tackle those fears. Not only in recording, but having the guts to post it. If you keep doing these videos, I have a feeling you’ll get really good at them, and you’ll continue to reach a broader audience. I think you have a talent for doing video and will become more comfortable as you go along. I could tell you got more comfortable as you got rolling.

    Hey, glad I could give you that “yucky feeling but good at the same time.” πŸ™‚

    2012 will be focus for me. I’m narrowing in on what I don’t like to do and getting rid of those things. Along with that, I’m learning more about what I do enjoy and focusing on that. It’s going to be a great year, Alana!

    • Justin, thanks for stopping by to check it out. I am now already excited to do the next one. Not sure the topic yet, but it’s almost like riding a roller coaster for the first time.

      There you are, standing in line, freaked out of your mind and the line keeps moving. Slowly you are inching forward and with each shuffle your anxiety increases. You finally make it to the front of the line. You consider foregoing the ride, but your friends cheer you on. You climb into your car, and with a shaking hand, buckle up. A quick announcement from the 17-year-old boy running the coaster and your train lurches forward with a jolt. 180 seconds later the ride is over and you think, “OHMYGOSH. Must.do.again. Now.”

      This is how I feel right now. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the challenge!

      I am very impressed with the feedback from everyone on what their “themes” are for the year! This has been highly enjoyable to read. It has also provided me with some ideas on ways I can improve my own life. I like your idea of narrowing in on what you do not like to do and eliminating that from your life. Are you doing this both personally and professionally? Or are you focusing professionally? What is something that you will be eliminating?

  2. My theme for this year is MOVE. It’s about taking that first step toward change and improvement. Last year’s theme was delight. I think I did a fairly decent job in delighting in the people, things,and places I encountered.

    • Oooh Reckless, I LIKE it! What is something you plan to change or improve this year?

      I’m also really diggin’ the theme of “delight.” NICE WORK!

  3. 20 seconds in and I love it! I remember the first video I made. I wanted to puke!

    Watching more now…

    Ok. I love this. Like Justin said above, I think you have natural talent here and you’ll shine even more with experience. MAKE IT HAPPEN!

    And bravo to you confronting your fears. Fears suck. And they can be totally debilitating. Way to step up and take them on head on! I occasionally do this and know of few feelings that make me feel more alive than taking on a fear and overcoming it. When you get knocked down, get back up. If you get knocked down and can’t get back up, crawl. Don’t give up. Doggedly go after the life you want.

    If I can help, let me know!

    ~Ivan

    • Ivan!! Thank you for stopping by. You crack me up – watch 20 seconds – comment – watch the rest. That is something I would do on your site. haha.

      Fears DO suck. They paralyze me all the time. BUT, I totally agree with you – when I actually get up the courage to face my fears head-on, I am SO empowered. I feel this way almost every time I leave the doctor’s office. I hate going to the doctor, but when I go in, face my fear and come out (typically) unscathed. Watch out. Alana Mokma is in the hizzouse!

  4. I love this, Alana! The best way to conquer your fears is to jump in and chase them down and you’re totally doing that. This video DOES rock!

    My theme for 2012 is getting out of the box. I want to step outside outside the realm of familiarity (as God directs) and into all that He has for me. No more missing out on stuff because it makes me uncomfortable!

    • Amanda, your theme is AWESOME. I mentioned in my reply to Justin that it has been fun to see what themes others are choosing for this year. I love that you are choosing to step out of the realm of familiarity so you will no longer miss out on things just because you feel uncomfortable! Do you have any opportunities that have already come up for you?

      • You know, I think something related to getting more education is on the horizon. I’m reaching out for more information just so I can start moving in a direction. Even if it’s the wrong one, at least it’s movement and God can correct me as necessary. πŸ˜‰

      • OOoooh NICE! I can’t wait to hear how this plays out for you. I’m proud of you for putting yourself in some unfamiliar situations.

  5. It was a pleasure to watch your video Alana. It’s amazing how many excuses we will come up with to avoid doing something we fear.

    If your interested in a great read on the subject then you’ll likely enjoy Susan Jeffers book “Feel the Fear and do it Anyway”

    The ones I go to for advice keep telling me I need to do video blogs. You ate giving me a good poke in the butt. THANKS!

    Chris

    • Chris, will you please e-mail me once you have decided to post your first video? I would love to see it! This book sounds interesting. What is something that stuck out to you when you read it?

  6. Very thought-provoking post, Alana! Plus, it was fun to see your smiling face.

    I hadn’t really considered a theme but if my writing of late is telling me something it’s to “make room.” I’m clearing out the old/toxic/bad (people) and making room for the the new/supportive/good.

    There’s a very interesting book by Gavin DeBecker called “The Gift of Fear” and in it he explains how certain fears are here to help us … and why it’s important to get still and listen to what your heart is whispering to you.

    https://www.gavindebecker.com/resources/book/the_gift_of_fear/

    Kudos to you for facing your fears head on … Cheers, MJ

    • MJ, I think that is a great theme – to clear out the old/toxic and make room for the new. Josh and I have a whiteboard wall in our kitchen and we wrote a similar comment – get rid of the old to make room for the new. Something that I am working on is investigating what relationships I want to continue to invest in and which relationships have run their course. Some of the “breaks” have been easy and some have been difficult. Thanks for the book reference too! I am intrigued by both books recommended on this page regarding fear.

  7. I love this! You did really good and were very natural on camera. I can’t wait to see more. I love that you’re conquering your fears and challenging yourself. Keep it up!

  8. Alana, way to tackle your fear first thing in the new year! I have decided to tackle “focus” in 2012. It’s not exactly a fear but I get so easily distracted these days, I cannot finish anything I start. Something needs to be done about it!

    Happy trails in 2012!

    • Marcia, you had a great post about “focus” on your blog! (It can be viewed here.) It made me laugh and I can totally relate to your comment about not even focusing long enough to pump a full tank of gas!

  9. Pingback: TAKING BOLD ACTION | A Better Way of Business

  10. Hey girl!
    Super de duper brave of you! Well done friend I love your big smile at the end πŸ˜‰ First video in the books!

    This is our year of “Breaking Free and Building A Foundation”
    yee-hah 2012 here we come!!!!!!!!!

    • Well we started with setting a lot of goals this year and specific plans of how to achieve them, down to daily actions that need to be taken.
      Each night before sleeping we are reviewing with each other what we learned, improved and enjoyed that day. It gets our minds in a better place before going to sleep.
      And I am learning to be thankful. It makes life so much more enjoyable πŸ™‚

      • Claudia – it is absolutely awesome that you and Michael are on the same page with this! Sometimes it can be difficult for one to get the other spouse to feel the same value in exercises like this. I like the idea of repeatedly reviewing the goals and the highs you are experiencing. This is something Kent Julian has told me – that he reviews his goals each week in order to keep them in the front of his mind. I am working in this direction, but have not quite gotten there myself yet.

      • Alana,
        True, true! Being on the same page is vitally important! We didn’t used to be… soooooo much better now that we are πŸ™‚
        And the repeating the goal thing is really helpful for me too because I tend to think I’ll do my goals later…then a month or two passes and oops I didn’t get anywhere! Breaking big goals down to daily tasks… what do I need to do today to get so and so done by the end of the month… has been wonderful!

        Enjoying being on this journey with you πŸ™‚

  11. Alana,

    SO PROUD OF YOU!!! You are truly living it forward!

    FYI, as someone who LOVES being a speaker, I really struggled with videos at first. It’s a very different forum (no feedback, no eye contact, no “reading an audience,” etc.). But believe me, you can do it.

    And BTW, one of your greatest assets is that you are not only authentic in what you are feeling, you put it out there for all of us to read and see. That’s powerful!!

    Keep “living it forward” and “speaking it forward,”

    Kent Julian
    http://www.liveitforward.com
    http://www.speakitforward.com

    PS To answer your question…as you know, my theme last year was “Big is Little and Little is Big.” This years, my theme is “It’s All About Numbers.” I’m not a numbers guy, but every one of my goals has a number attached to it in some way, so I’m going to focus on hitting my numbers πŸ™‚

    • Exactly!! The most difficult part of creating this first video was that there was no feedback from the audience – no smiles, no nods, no yawns, stretches or rolling of the eyes. I kept talking while having no clue what my “audience” was thinking. I plan to do more video posts and I am confident they will get better with time.

      Thanks for sharing your theme for the year – “It’s All About Numbers.” It has been incredible to hear what each person’s theme is because it gives me a glimpse into what is important to others and/or what they want to overcome. VERY COOL!

  12. Pingback: Freeing Myself From Captivity | musings of a shiny penny

  13. Pingback: Running at My Fear (pt. 2) | musings of a shiny penny

What do you think?

