Simple Ways to Nurture Your Soul

Nina Nelson with family

I met Nina through thenonconformistfamily.com. I immediately connected with her holistic approach on life. Nina recently released her e-Book titled Simple Natural Health and I am honored to have her share a few thoughts on what she has learned here!

When someone says health, the first thing that usually comes to mind is diet or exercise. But there’s so much more to wellness than food and activity. Nourishing your soul is just as vital to your well-being as taking care of your body.

Since realizing (and acting upon) this idea, I’ve enjoyed so many benefits: I feel strong. I’ve lost weight. My relationships are richer. And I’m pursuing a purpose that seemed so unclear until now.

Eating and staying active are still very important, but I’ve learned to pay attention to these areas as well:

Rest
When we sleep, our bodies repair themselves. So when we cheat ourselves on sleep, we’re really preventing our bodies from doing some important healing.

Rest during the day is important, too. Have you ever tried to keep pushing yourself to meet a deadline only to find that the harder your push, the harder it was to finish. Our bodies work in a natural rhythm, so try to remember that during the day. Take a brief break every ninety minutes or so.

Solitude
Sometimes we just need to be alone. For introverts, like myself, this is especially true. It’s good to take a little time each day to just regroup and breathe. Take a walk, a hike, sit in the sunshine. Or, steal away to a room with a locked door or the bath to enjoy some solitude.

Prayer/meditation
This goes right along with the solitude. For me, this entails going somewhere by myself, reading a bit of my Bible and just talking to God and listening. I need this. And when I can’t steal away I try to pray throughout the day. I give thanks, ask questions, surrender troubles and just try to stay connected.

Relationship
A rich life is one full of meaningful relationships. Marriage. Extended family. Friends. All of these connections are vital for your well-being. Nurture the relationships you have and build meaningful new ones.

Creativity
I think creativity is super important. No, it’s vital to our well-being. When I create, I feel better. It makes me more creative. It helps me to stay grounded. There’s just something about putting something beautiful out into the world, whether it’s a drawing, a beautifully presented meal or poetry.

Purpose
I used to struggle with depression, feeling meaningless and unfulfilled. I knew that I was made for something special; I just wasn’t doing it. Seeking out my purpose has brought about the greatest change in my life. I’m much more aware of myself – my talents, strengths, passions – and how I can positively impact this world.

Creating a life that you love – one that makes you come alive and blesses others – can’t be done if you don’t take care of yourself. Take some time right now and figure out what habits you need to incorporate to begin nourishing your entire being.

What aspects are you ignoring that need more attention? What habits have you created that nourish your soul?

Nina Nelson is a wellness advocate, mama to four and wife to one. She writes regularly at Shalom Mama, inspiring others to live intentionally. She loves reading, snuggling and giggling at miniature horses. She just released her new book, Simple Natural Health, a resource that simplifies intentional wellness.

6 thoughts on “Simple Ways to Nurture Your Soul

  1. Nina,
    Thanks for sharing. I’ve realized that solitude is key for me as well, especially as an introvert. I love the balanced/holistic approach here. That’s something that my wife Claudia and I are putting onto practice as well.

    • Thanks Michael. I’ve known this about myself for a long time, but for a while I wasn’t putting it into practice. Once I did, I was amazed at how quickly I felt re-energized.

  2. I agree; many wonderful points here. I think the one that resonates with me most right now is rest – and you make a strong case on why we should rest throughout the day, too.

    MJ

  3. I agree with MJ – I resonate most with “Rest.” I have been so on-the-go that today I felt intoxicated. I believe it was a mix between adrenaline and lack of rest. This gentle reminder of taking time to rest has popped up in more than one place this week so I know this is something I need to give some attention to.

    I feel like I experience the most rejuvenation through relationships. Ironically, I think too much time with relationships is what has been my vice and I end up feeling drained.

    Nina, thank you for your insight! Which one do you feel like you are doing the best at right now? Which one do you struggle with most?

  4. Right now, I’m spending a lot of time in relationship, which I love. I’ve been praying for it for a loooong time and I’m very glad for it. BUT. I’m doing a poor job at the alone time. Just me. I’m having to be way more intentional about carving that out.

    • Nina, it’s crazy how getting so much of a good thing can throw the balance for other areas in our lives! I tend to swing back and forth on the spectrum – either too much social time or too much alone time. It can be difficult to find a balance, but that is one of my more immediate focuses. I like that you are working on carving out alone time for yourself!

What do you think?

