I’m Totally Impressionable

Yikes!


Fellow blogger Joe Michaels e-mailed an article to me this week titled “How the People Around You Affect Personal Success.” The gist of the article is that the people you spend your time with will ultimately have an affect on your life’s successes. A few months back, I wrote a similar article that you can find here. However, Leo Widrich took this concept much deeper. I highly recommend you read his article!

Leo quotes Jim Rohn by saying: “‘You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.’ This quote is one of the most powerful ones that I keep reminding myself over and over again. I am the average of the five people I spend the most time with. Others around myself determine how I think, how I act, and ultimately how successful I will be.”

YIKES! Assuming this is true, consider the implications. Are these people ambitious? Optimistic? Pessimistic? Unmotivated? How are they affecting your outlook?

I plan to follow Leo’s lead and make a list of the top 5 people I spend most of my time with. I already know this is going to be an eye-opening task. I recommend you try it. Make a list of their names and their attributes (dependable, motivated, ambitious, optimistic, possess a victim mentality, entitlement, hopeless). According to Jim Rohn, you are the average of these 5 people. How are these people affecting your average?

2 thoughts on “I’m Totally Impressionable

What do you think?

