Synchronicity

Synchronicity (n): an apparently meaningful coincidence in time of two or more similar or identical events that are causally unrelated.

The past couple months I have been feeling overwhelmed with life. I’ve mentioned before that I am a seven on the Enneagram. Sevens “constantly seek new and exciting experiences, but can become distracted and exhausted by staying on the go”. I’m filled with ideas for people I want to connect or projects and businesses I want to start. Sometimes I feel like I am on the verge of break down because I never… slow… down.

I’ve been searching for answers to some pretty big questions and seem to change my mind daily on what direction I am going to move or which project will get my attention first. I’ve often asked myself: How can I slow down enough to have a complete thought and experience some clarity? Then… last week I experienced Synchronicity.

Weds – met with a friend who felt her mind was always full of thoughts. She was looking for peace and a moment when her brain wasn’t on overdrive. I mentioned to her the practice of Morning Pages and how when I exercised doing them this winter, I experienced incredible clarity and found that I was better able to problem solve. It was essentially a “brain dump” to get the gunk out of the brain first thing in the morning. I recommended she give it a try.

Thurs – My friend Claudia posted about how journaling first thing in the morning helped her to untangle her thoughts. I responded to her post asking if she was referring to Morning Pages and that I had told a friend the previous day about how they help to clear your brain.

Fri – Josh and I were having a discussion and he randomly mentioned, “Maybe you should try doing Morning Pages again. Those seemed to really help you.” He and I hadn’t discussed my Morning Pages in months.

WHAT?

This is synchronicity.

I am going to begin Morning Pages again. I know this is going to provide clarity and I anticipate having my eyes opened to the root issues of problems I consistently face.

(Click here to see a video on how to do Morning Pages.)

How about you? Have you ever tried a practice like Morning Pages? Would you consider trying for the next two weeks to see what clarity and freedom you experience?

4 thoughts on “Synchronicity

    • SWEET! Michael, I am so excited you are going to do this! Would you be open to providing a little feedback here in the comment section on how it went for you after the two weeks is up?

      I started doing them again this past Sunday. I am already feeling more in control again, more confident and at peace.

  1. Alana,
    I am blessed by your mention here… and am excited to see what your two week trial of morning pages brings forth in your life! šŸ™‚

    Writing, for me has always been healing and revealing. Words are powerful, we view our lives through them. Figuring out exactly what words I viewed my life through has been life changing.

    Blessings to you friend… may you find what you are looking for and may your heart find peace and healing there!

    I will indeed join you…

    • Thank you, Claudia! You and Michael are certainly an inspiration to me to continue being open to new thoughts, and new ways of viewing and experiencing life.

      I am so happy to hear you will join me in the two-week Morning Pages experiment! I’m excited to see what surfaces.

What do you think?

