Vodka on the Rocks, Please!

Okay, so Vodka on the Rocks is not my alcoholic beverage of choice, but I do enjoy a good Captain n’ Diet or a nice glass o’ wine. Anyway, after a rough day at work, some days all I can think of is how badly I want to go home and drown my frustrations in libations. I want to numb the anger and pain and avoid dealing with the discomfort of whatever happened that day.

I read yesterday in the book If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat that comfort will often keep us from growth.

I contemplated this and realized how it has been true in my own life. The times I have become too comfortable, specifically in my job, I’ve stopped pushing myself to aspire for more. I mean, if it feels good, why change it, right?

Although I love to be comfortable (just threw on some yoga pants as soon as I walked in the door to my house) I realize how it can stunt my growth if I remain comfortable for too long. My job can be very uncomfortable some days. I’ve noticed it is the uncomfortable days that propel me forward to continue to discover and follow my passions.

Allow yourself to be uncomfortable. Don’t try to cover up your frustrations with alcohol, TV or whatever is your “drug” of choice. It is during these times of discomfort you will most likely experience the most growth in your life.

Question: How has discomfort driven you to pursue change?

What do you think?

