A Word from Max

The below excerpt is taken from Max Lucado’s book: Let the Journey Begin.

The Fire of Your Heart
Want to know God’s will for your life? Then answer this question:

What ignites your heart?

Forgotten orphans? Untouched nations? The inner city? The outer limits? Heed the fire within!

  • Do you have the passion to sing? Then sing!
  • Are you stirred to manage? Then manage!
  • Do you ache for the ill? Then treat them!
  • Do you hurt for the lost? Then teach them!

As a young man I felt the call to preach. Unsure if I was correct in my reading God’s will for me, I sought the counsel of a minister I admired. His counsel still rings true. “Don’t preach,” he said, “unless you have to.” 

As I pondered his words I found my answer: “I have to. If I don’t, the fire will consume me.” 

********

Want to know one thing that sets my heart on fire?
Hearing redemptive stories like the one Abbie shared on Tuesday. As I read her story, I found myself replaying events from my own life. I have not shared much of this on the blog, but plan to someday write a book of my own personal story of redemption and struggle to find my identity. There is something wonderfully magical about hearing other people’s stories – especially when they connect deep, in the innermost places of your own personal story. This is why I have started the Your Story series on the blog. To find that you are not alone, and that others struggle with the exact same frustrations or horrors, is incredibly empowering.

The fire of your heart is the light of your path. 

Question: What is the fire that consumes you? 

 

What do you think?

