A Year In Review – holy cannoli!

On September 24 I celebrated a new beginning. If you missed it, you can read more about it here. What I didn’t realize is that September 24 also marked the one year birthday of Musings of a Shiny Penny! I posted my first article on September 24, 2011. Personally, I am amazed at this accomplishment. I get my pleasure from starting projects, but rarely enjoy maintaining them. However, this one is different. I have absolutely loved sharing parts of my story, interacting with you, being able to motivate, encourage and inspire and to give others a platform to share their own stories.

I’d like to share with you a few highlights of the past year, but first I’ll let you in on a little secret… Ready? musings of a shiny penny is getting a facelift. YES! The new site is in developing stage right now, and hopefully within a month you will see a new site with improved features! Yippee! I am really pumped.

Without further ado: A Year In Review

In the past year, musings of a shiny penny has had 7,866 page views, from 67 different countries and 670 total comments.

The first post ever:
What’s In It For Me?

The post with the most views (196 hits) in one day:
If You Knew the Truth, Would You Still Like Me?

Most popular posts:
If You Knew the Truth, Would you Still Like Me?
Sexuality Redeemed shared by Abigail Livingston
I Can’t Give Up shared by Kim Lincoln

Post that sparked the most outrage:
If You Hate Your Job, You Are Sinning

Top Commenters:
Emjayandthem
Kent Julian
Ivan Bickett
Amanda Janal
Josh Mokma

16 Guest Posters!
A big thank you to you all for contributing to the first year of posts. In order of appearance: Ivan Bickett, Cari Troyer, Emjayandthem (MJ), Claudia Good, Josh Gordon, Josh Becker, Nina Nelson, Carissa Woodwyk, Terri Spaulding, Amanda Whitehead, Kim Lincoln, Josh Mokma, Michael Good, Gary and Laurie Pokorny, Abbie Livingston and Kimanzi Constable.

Check back Tuesday, October 2. My sister Halsey Preston will be posting and will be launching her new blog the same day! This is something you won’t want to miss – she is an incredibly talented artist. Her blog will soon fill with sketches and doodles mixed with short illustrated stories. Her first short story will be featured on musings of a shiny penny!

I especially want to thank my husband, Josh. Josh, you have supported me throughout the past year – through my ups and downs and the constant chasing of random shiny objects (projects) that I think I want to invest my time into. Knowing that you believe in me and believing that I have a story worth telling has empowered me more than you will know. Thank you.

This year has been a journey. I’ve learned a lot about myself – some really cool things and some really scary things. I know I am a better person. I’m looking forward to a new year of learning and growing and climbing and processing and kicking and screaming. Hehe. In the end, it’s all good, right? šŸ˜‰

If you are not signed up for updates, I recommend you join the other 368 followers. There is a lot going on and it’s only going to get better from here.

Peace!
Alana Mokma

18 thoughts on “A Year In Review – holy cannoli!

    • MJ!!! I totally missed including you in the guest post section. I just added you. šŸ™‚ Thank you for the congrats. This adventure has been lots of fun and I know more is to come. šŸ™‚

  1. Rock and roll, Alana! I love watching you live it forward in the most important roles of your life. It’s great to see where you’ve come in a year. Just think what the next 1, 3, 5, and 10 years hold for you. You’ve been on an amazing journey and it’s only going get better!ļ»æ

    • I’m a rockin’ and a rollin’. ha. It’s still early in the morning. Thank you Kent for the encouragement you have provided me along the way. Early on, it was Josh, you and Ivan that kept me going. I’m so excited to see what comes of this journey. I am expecting GREAT THINGS!

  2. Whoa! Congrats on completing a year of blogging Alana. It sounds like you’ve had a lot of fun on the journey and you’ve met lots of interesting people.

    With the amazing year you’ve had, it’s only beginning. Can’t wait to see what the next coming year has to offer!

    • Joe – you are so right – I have met some incredible people over the the past year – specifically through blogging! I think I first met you on rise365.com! šŸ™‚

  3. Congrats Alana and Happy Birthday Muse! I’m so proud of you for starting and growing this blog. You seem to be truly enjoying it and that is awesome. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, ideas and questions. I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to the facelift:)

    • hehe. I like that you said “Happy Birthday Muse!” Thank you Jenean! I really am enjoying this blog. So much more than I thought I would when I first started. I can’t wait for others to see the new “look.”

    • ahh, I wondered if we started around the same time! I remember your website somehow popping up on my feed shortly after I began this blog. Are you and Claudia planning a big shebang to ring in your new year?

      I’m toying around with the idea of blogging more often on a personal level (as opposed to blogging about how to be successful, careers, etc.) – that seems to be what I enjoy most. There will still be an element of the career blogging – but I am investigating ways to marry this with a very personal aspect, because that is where my heart is.

  4. Congrats!! What a year it has been. So proud of you for the consistent pursuit of your dreams. Can’t wait to see what another year will bring!

    • Shelbe! Thank you for your support along the way. It has meant a lot to me to know there are people I care about deeply who are following my story and my journey. I have a sense this new year is going to bring some pretty crazy and amazing things. šŸ˜‰

    • Reckless – It excites me to hear that you still enjoy reading after a year! As I share, I become more comfortable with myself and what I have to offer, so I know this new year is going to bring a more engaged “me”! Thanks for your comment and encouragement! šŸ™‚

What do you think?

