The Detox is Ova!

Back in September, I wrote a post about a new beginning I was going to start. This included: getting a bodacious bod, being more focused on my productivity, and resting more. If you missed it, you can check it out here.

As promised, I am providing you with an update on how this 30-day “cleanse” went down.

Morning Pages: In a span of 30 days, I think I missed 3. I’m pretty proud of myself for this one! I thought this would be what I would struggle with most. Nearly every day I was up between 5:00 or 5:15 am to get this time in. The Result: Since the exercise of Morning Pages is essentially a “brain dump” I felt like I cleared all the muddy thinking out of my brain first thing in the morning and could think more clearly throughout the day. Most days, I felt mentally satisfied and no longer constipated. As a result of the Morning Pages, I decided to invite my Board of Directors to help me clarify my vision for this blog. [If you missed that update. You can read about that here.] Moving Forward: I plan to continue this exercise. only good things are coming of it.

1-20-80 Lists: So, shortly after I began this goal, I joined a 21-day productivity challenge with rise365.com. As a result I changed up how I did my “to-do” lists. Instead, I ended up writing on an index card each evening the 6 Things I wanted to complete the following day. This system worked pretty well! I did it most days, but missed a few. On those days I missed, I pretty much felt like I was running around like a chicken with its head cut off. I also ended those days feeling frustrated because I didn’t feel like I accomplished anything. The Result: I kind of already knew this, but I am a list person. I need to have that goal sheet that I can mark off the box and feel the exhilaration of accomplishment. Moving Forward: I’m planning to do a new style of goal-setting organization. I’ll talk more about that another day.

In bed by 9:30 PM, Read from 9:30 PM – 10:00 PM: I did pretty well at this for the first 15 days. After that I slacked a little, but still went to bed MUCH earlier than usual. Prior to this experiment, I would go to bed anytime between 11 PM and 1:00 AM. Which made it harder to get up in the morning, which also made me feel like I needed caffeine – which of course ended up being a high-calorie coffee from Starbucks or the great $1 deal of a 32 oz. Diet Coke from McDonald’s. Then I’d stay up late again because of the caffeine in my system and start the whole process all over again the next day. Everything we do is connected to every other part of our lives. Our actions create a ripple affect. The Result: With this goal, I ended up reading a lot more than I have in years. I was also much more relaxed when I laid down to actually sleep. Before this experiment, I would check my e-mail, Facebook and Twitter feeds, Instagram, then e-mail again, then maybe Facebook again… then maybe Instagram again – I did not want to miss that last minute photo that may have been posted. Ridiculous. Moving Forward: I think I’m going to try to keep this one up. My goal will be to be in bed between 9:30-10 and read from 10-10:30. The sooner I get in bed, the more I can read! 🙂

No Alana Treats: This deal I pretty much CRUSHED! I thought I would fail miserably, but actually did a fantastic job. For the entire 30 days I had zero coffee and zero pop. On two instances I had dessert. Of course I justified it. 😉 The first dessert was two slices from a caramel apple that also had crushed cookies and chocolate mixed into the caramel. The second was a couple bites of Indian dessert from a party I went to. In both cases, the reason I decided it would be okay is because I did not know if or when I could ever try these two particular items again. The Result: My face is noticeably thinner and I am experiencing a lot more energy. As soon as my 30-day detox was complete, I did have some pop, and some pie, and a brownie, and some more pop. I immediately felt sick again. I felt bloated, groggy and sluggish. Moving Forward: I am going to limit the sugar consumption again. I haven’t decided exactly how this will look, but I’m contemplating the idea of 6 days healthy, and then 1 day as a “whatever” day.

Squats: Yeah… about that. I blew the opportunity to do these often. The whole point was that for a person who says she is too busy to work out, she can still do these throughout the day and get some exercise in. I feel a little guilty about this one, but not too bad. The Results: Despite not doing tons of squats, I still managed a high cardio work-out 3x each week. Most weeks it was Friday AM – spin, Sunday PM – cycling ride with Josh and Monday PM – Zumba. This combined with the no-sweets has definitely started to carve my body back into my early-20’s shape. And I like it. 🙂 I like what I’m seeing when I look in the mirror. Even those vertical lines at the sides of my abs are beginning to emerge again. [score!] Moving Forward: I would not say I am obsessively addicted to the reshaping of my body, but there is definitely a healthy awareness. I plan to continue to exercise. I am considering adding in another spin class [this is where I go – love it and the owners!], have already added push-ups into my every-other-day routine and hope to add in a yoga class.

This post was incredibly long, but I also wanted to make sure I delivered on my promise to provide an update on this experiment. Although the post is titled “The Detox is Ova!” … it’s not really over. This is actually just the beginning. My body is again starting to bang, I feel more energized, my skin appears healthier, I feel more focused and productive.

It’s only going to get better from here.

[I’ll show you some photos in another 30 days. Josh took a few pictures of my shoulders and biceps last week and I intend to display before/after pictures as a result of my new 30 day push-up challenge.]

Question for you: What is something you gave up for a full 30 days? How did you feel about the results? 

6 thoughts on “The Detox is Ova!

  1. Good job Alana! and thanks for the update. I don’t think I’ve ever given something up for 30 days. I would really like to give up sugar for 30 days. This has given me much food for thought on restructuring my day. I can relate to spending too much time checking email, facebook, etc. ! I do try to go to bed early enough to read each night. but I often bring my ipad with me. not good.

    • Marcia – yes, Josh got me an iPod last Christmas and I developed the poor habit of messing around with that each night instead of just going to bed or reading a book. The first few days of no “bedtime internet” were hard, then I grew to savor that time. Please let me know if you end up giving up sugar for 30 days. I would LOVE to hear how that goes! 🙂

  2. When I was younger, I smoked. I stopped when I got pregnant with my daughter, but started up again a few weeks after she was born. About 4 months later, I was standing outside, on a cold October night, having a cigarette (I wouldn’t allow smoking in my house once I got pregnant) and I could feel the beginnings of a cold coming on … and I put out my cigarette. I decided I would stop for a week, and if that stuck, I would go a month.

    It stuck. That was almost 17 years ago, & I haven’t taken a drag from a cigarette since. Needless to say, I feel all kinds of good about that. 🙂

    Being Catholic, I was quite used to “giving things up for Lent” growing up. Now I focus more on correcting personality flaws, but when I was a kid, I always gave up sweets for Lent because I love them & it was a true, childish sacrifice. Every now & then I still “detox” from sweets to an extent – I don’t go super strict (for example, I did drizzle a bit of honey on my toast & peanut butter a few minutes ago) but I give up desserts/excess treats. It definitely does make help the body to feel better, getting rid of sugar! Good luck with it …

  3. When we start some new course of self-improvement, whether an exercise program, a spiritual practice or morning pages, we tend to expect immediate results. At least I do. And If I don’t see results pretty quickly, I tend to find reasons to stop doing the exercise. I decided this morning that I’d commit to doing morning pages for 30 days without any expectation of results.

    • Silver, that is great!! I would love for you to report back here after the 30 days to provide an update. I agree with you – if I don’t see the results, it’s easy to just give up in the midst of the change I am trying to make. One of the more exciting things I experienced during this 30 days was a change in my body shape. Since I had committed to 30 days of a certain way of eating, I knew I could not cheat. At the end of those 30 days, I was able to see that my body had CHANGED for the good! I hope that 30 days of Morning Pages will be the same for you.

      Seriously, if you are up for it, I’d love to hear an update at the end of 30 days!

  4. Pingback: Muse Says Her Goodbyes | musings of a shiny penny

What do you think?

