The Bouncers Knew Me By Name

Once I realized how alcohol could boost my confidence, [backstory here] it quickly became part of my weekly regimen. From 2002 – 2004, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights = bar night. Despite this, I somehow managed to maintain a 3.0 – 4.0 throughout college. I did get a 1.0 in one of my classes and that was directly tied to my new-found social life.

During these college years, I worked at Circuit City. The people I worked with quickly became my friends and social life. It was assumed that most nights during the week, there was at least one group of people going out to have a good time, so I was never lacking in bar buddies.

Then I realized I could combine alcohol and dancing into one evening, and that made the experience that much more euphoric. I became addicted. All I wanted to do was go to the bar, drink and dance. I wasn’t that girl who was afraid to dance on stages. In fact, that’s where I preferred to dance – where all eyes could be on me.

A college student, working at Circuit City part time for $8/hr cannot afford this posh lifestyle.

And that’s when I decided it was time to get a credit card.

11 thoughts on “The Bouncers Knew Me By Name

  1. I thought the video was going to feature you living it up, with your Long Island Iced Teas, and dancing. Instead, I got to watch a commercial for DeVry University!

What do you think?

