How to Get What You Want: Tip #1

Sassy Ladies: Alana's Vision Board

My next four posts will share what I have learned over the past year about success… and how to attain it.

#1: Set Goals

Problem: I have a tendency to make goals and write them on random pieces of paper. I stick the paper in my pocket, or in my purse or in a notebook and by the time a week has passed, I have misplaced the paper or even completely forgotten that I wrote the goals down.

Solution: Two weeks ago I had the opportunity to attend a class on How to Make a Vision Board. What is a Vision Board? It is a visual representation of the things you want in life – the things you want to do, have or be. The purpose of the board is to activate the Law of Attraction. This law states that “we attract into our lives anything that we give attention to, regardless whether it be positive or negative.” [1]

My Vision Board has images of sassy women, a section titled “What I love about Me” with words like “making waves” and “breakthrough leader” listed under it. There are other words listed such as “budding beauty,” “community” and a phrase that states “One drop changes everything.”

I plan to hang this board in the bathroom I use to prepare for my day. Every morning, it will be a visual reminder of who I want to be, what I want to do and what I want to have. I cannot wait to see how these things begin to play out in my life!

You may be thinking right now, “Seriously Alana? Just setting goals isn’t going to change my life.” Well, I challenge you – If you don’t know what you want, how will you know when you have attained it?

Creating collages not your thang? Try writing your goals on a sheet of paper and taping them to the wall beside your bathroom mirror, on your car dashboard or next your computer monitor. I bet you’ll begin to see changes within weeks.

1. The Law of Attraction. Webring, Inc. 2007.

11 thoughts on “How to Get What You Want: Tip #1

  1. You KNOW I love this! I’m all about goals!

    Figure out your priorities. Set goals around them. Then actively pursue those goals. YOUR LIFE WILL BE CHANGED.

    Or TOTALLY IGNORE all of that and keep doing what you’ve been doing and you’ll keep getting what you’ve been getting.

    You pick.

    And NOT deciding is a decision for the second choice.

    ~Ivan

  2. That sassy lady is FIERCE!!

    Love it .. and love knowing you’ve found a safe place for your vision board where you will also see it every day. Mine is hanging up above my computer and I see it every night …

    Cheers, MJ

    • CRAZY. I was journaling this morning and wrote down a few words I wanted to add to my Vision Board. Literally 5 minutes ago, I wrote down the word “FIERCE” and then I logged in and saw your reply. Oooh, that is awesome.

  3. If you don’t know what you want, how will you know when you have attained it? I love that! So true! I’ve become addicted to pinterest.com … it’s a virtual message board…can very much be your vision board, with the ease of everything you could dream of world-wide. I LOVE it. Have been greatly inspired by my quotes board!

    • Ashley, I agree. I have come to realize the importance of writing down what I want and putting it in front of me as a visual reminder. Funny that you mentioned pinterest.com. I had never heard of it until a couple weeks ago! After you mentioned, I applied for a membership.

  4. LOVE the vision board idea! Claudia did one of these this past summer and now it’s hanging in our bedroom.

    Its great to see it there and be reminded of what my goals are but, the process of first putting the stuff on the board was so powerful for me. It was tough but as I fought through thinking about what I liked and what my goals are, I started to gain clarity.

    • Hey Michael Goof. (just kidding)

      Have you found anything that Claudia has put on the Vision Board come to fruition yet? As far as actual goals, mental states you wish to maintain, etc.?

      I hung my board in my bathroom the other day and I found that when I walk in and see it now, I immediately have peace and a sense of clarity and my “fighter” spirit becomes stronger. I’m hoping to add a few more things to the board that include financial goals and public speaking goals.

What do you think?