The Speech

“…And a last born will exhibit characteristics of charm, and a social and outgoing personality. They look for opportunities to have fun.”

I was on fire. It was 1999, and I was standing on stage, presenting my high school senior thesis on “Birth Order Psychology.” As I saw it, the parents and teachers were enthralled – hanging on my every word. Every few moments, a burst of laughter would erupt from the crowd in response to a witty comment I had woven into my speech. I was on cloud nine.

I had no idea then that thirteen years later, I would come full-circle and find myself passionately interested in a similar topic – personality styles and how our wiring affects our behavior and outlook.

Back then, my favorite book was The Birth Order Book by Kevin Leman. Now, I am deeply interested in understanding my own behavior and how my behavioral style can complement or clash with another style. I read books on psychology and when I come across traits that match up with a friend, family or colleague I actually get goosebumps from excitement!

How can I care so much about this topic? Because it is ingrained deep within me to be passionate about it. I was wired to care about personalities! I’ve been searching to find what my passions are and it turns out they were directly in front of me!

Are you having difficulty putting a finger on what you feel passionate about? Answering the below questions will help you to identify what truly makes you come alive:
1). What do I read about in my free time?
2). What do I often choose to talk about with my friends?
3). If my bills were paid for the next 12 months, I would I _____________ with my free time.
4). I often search the internet for ___________________.
5). I find that whenever I am _____________________ the time just gets away from me. Hours could pass and I would have no idea!
6). What are your top three favorite movies? What common thread can you find amongst the three of these? (this idea taken from Adam Rico @ workyouenjoy.com).
7). What enrages or disgusts you? (Yes, this can also identify your passion… after all, a passion is a powerful feeling, such as love or hate).

As you are able to answer these questions, it will begin to direct you in the way of your passions.

“I believe our passions are the closest thing we’ll get to God telling us what to do with our lives.” – Joshua Gordon with the nonconformistfamily.com

What about you?
Have you identified what sets you on fire? What makes you come alive? Share your experience in the comment section.

7 thoughts on “The Speech

  1. Alana, your blog is one of the best I’ve seen. Every time I read it I feel inspired to get out of any funk that I might be in and actually change. I just started reading an art book about light and how artists are usually inspired to paint something because of the way light is interacting with an object. I’m really enjoying the book so I guess I’m on the right track πŸ™‚

    • Halsey – YAAAAY! Yay for two reasons: 1). You found a topic you are interested in. I have never looked at lighting in that way before – the way it can be an inspiration by the way it interacts with objects. Are there all different mediums shown in the book? It sounds quite interesting. How did you find the book? 2). I am thrilled that you find this blog motivating. πŸ™‚ It is a success for me when I receive feedback that others feel the thoughts/ideas/words I share help get them out of a rut or encourage them to look at a situation from a new perspective. I love hearing how various posts speak to each individual. Thank you for your feedback! πŸ™‚

  2. I feel alive when I am able to act as a catalyst for someone else’s personal and/or professional growth. That is what I do best and I am completely energized by it. I really like the prompts you provided Alana. I think all those things definitely will give us clues as to what our passions are. (Also, thanks for the shout out on the movie thing. I borrowed it from Mary DeMuth)

    • Adam, oh yes! We share this passion. I get so pumped up when someone tells me they took action and started something new because of what I recommended or did. Some of these prompts were inspired by both Dan Miller and notes from a Vision Board class I participated in.

      I’m intrigued by those who just know what it is they want to do with their lives. It is interesting that some struggle so much to figure it out and others have to fight for it. I have fought/am fighting to figure out what makes me come alive. My friend Claudia Good (do you know her?) wrote a post on this topic. It is titled, “Are You Born With It?”

      What is your opinion? Why do some know early on and others have to work hard to find their passions & talents?

  3. Love this post! Just this week, I did a guest post that touched on birth order (my view, not science πŸ™‚ ). Had a blast with it.
    Many years ago, someone introduced me to the DISC profile system. It changed my whole life and how I view others. Helping others makes me come alive. i love helping people grow and develop.

    • Ngina – YEAH! I love talking about birth-order! I noticed in a few places on your blog you mentioned being “the baby” in the family and I wondered if you were familiar with how birth order can affect personalities. If you haven’t checked out Kevin Leman’s book on birth order, I highly recommend it!

      Are you able to help people grow and develop in your current job? I am able to do this with my coaching but unfortunately do not have a lot of opportunity for it at my 8-5 job.

      • I have an idea but have not read it in-depth. Will definitely add that book to my To-read list. I am in the process of setting up my business again (after moving countries) – I consult and train on personal development matters and corporate training.

What do you think?